The Department of Political Studies is a community of academics who create and publish knowledge within various social science fields, thus helping to improve social governance mechanisms at a subnational, national and international levels. It fully respects the values of intellectual liberty, pluralism, independent thought, intellectual rigor and honesty, responsibility, transparency and objectivity. 

The Department of Political Studies was established in 2020, making it the seventh academic department within the Faculty of Humanities.

Department Chair: Dr. Mauricio Olavarría-Gambi